4-Hour Chef – Lesson 3 – Coconut Cauliflower Curry Mash

This was a great little lesson, resulting not only in a decent new skill learnt, but also a great new recipe.

As mentioned in the 4-Hour Chef, this recipe results in a dish that ends up with a similar-ish look and texture to mashed potatoes, which if you’re avoiding carbs, is a great alternative.

I hardly ever buy and cook white cauliflower because I find the taste pretty bland on its own, and I don’t know of any good recipes to liven it up – up to now. It also helps that this recipe is pretty easy to follow, with very few ingredients needed.

Ingredients

  1. Cauliflower
  2. Unsweetened coconut milk
  3. Curry powder
  4. Salt
  5. Cashews (which I didn’t add because I’m not a fan of nuts in savoury food)
Cauliflower - check. Coconut milk - check.

Cauliflower – check. Coconut milk – check.

First up, cook the cauliflower in 180ml of coconut milk (and cashews) for 20 minutes. It is a lot easier if you break the cauliflower up into pieces before hand (wrap in a towel and smash the stem against the table until it breaks into little florets).

Boil the cauliflower florets in the coconut milk...

Boil the cauliflower florets in the coconut milk…

Remove from the heat, add salt and a pinch of curry powder. Use a fork and mash until it has a mashed potato-like consistency.

...and mash!

…and mash!

Verdict: An extremely tasty and relatively healthy dish which definitely livens up the cauliflower! I will definitely be making this again in the future.

Skills:

  • mashing – failed, I think the cauliflower could have done with more boiling (or maybe on a higher heat setting). It was just too difficult to mash up with a fork! I will need to practise this one again.

Bonus points:

  • N/A for this week

4 thoughts on “4-Hour Chef – Lesson 3 – Coconut Cauliflower Curry Mash

  1. I’ve never done the whole cauliflower mash thing before. I think I like my carbs too much 😛

    Recently I made this cauliflower lentil curry from “Veganomicon” and it was so good! My whole family devoured it so I barely had anything left for myself 😦

  2. This looks intriguing. There’s something about cauliflower and curry…I used to make a roasted curry cauliflower recipe. Then, I started making a cauliflower puree that was so delicious, I never did anything else with my cauliflower…. Boil 2 parts cauliflower with 1 part potatoes (both chopped) in a bit of chicken broth or water. When everything is soft, blend it (I use an immersion blender, best device EVER), and stir in some salt and red pepper flakes. Serve with a small pat of butter on top. Oh. My. Goodness. I think I ate about 30 heads of cauliflower my winter in grad school, just making this recipe alone.

    • That sounds really decent! Can’t say I’ve ever been a huge fan of cauliflower, but that’s just because all I ever did with it was boil it!

Leave a comment